waiting waiting

Monday, Oct. 13, 2003
A person's temperature may rise as high as 105 degrees F. The patient sweats profusely, and breathing and pulse rate increase rapidly. Lips and nailbeds may have a bluish color due to lack of oxygen in the blood. A patient's mental state may be confused or delirious.

Those were the symptoms. How could you suffer from pneumonia while living in a nursing home, without anyone picking up on it?

Must have been about a decade. Living in this house. Her footsteps were slow, but light. Must have been her slippers.

I'm so cold.

I'm so scared.

She had been so happy to see me. To see all the girls again. It's been a long time.

Combined with a heart attack and athsma, they're talking about life support machines. Won't necessarily help, they say, but will keep her alive.

Alive until what?

A body.

That's all she'll be reduced to.

My grandmother.

Always so strong.

Waiting. Waiting for what? For hope.

For life.

I pinned you to my notice board so I wouldn�t forget to burn you at the weekend | goodbye


about
waiting
navigate
---------
did you miss?
---------
credit
---------