letters to you letters to you

Saturday, Oct. 29, 2005
14/10/2005
"Clearly a decent time to write a letter is when you�ve returned from watching a scary film, �The Exorcism of Emily Something or Other,� which admittedly you didn�t entirely understand, being dubbed in Italian after all, but still left you hiding behind a woman�s head, my own jumper and Will�s arm. A 3-step plan. Foolproof. So you return to a dark, dark house (electricity saving is my guess) with nothing but those awful energy saving blue glowing things in the odd corner so you don�t walk into the walls, in a house full of creaky doors and such. Enrico just scared me once again by knocking on my door to say goodnight...

Enrico was saying on our way home that dreams are what we haven�t got around to reflecting on in a fully conscious state. Usually things that have happened in the past few days etc. I don�t often remember mine, but I know I haven�t been sleeping that well. Maybe it�s just odd student sleeping habits�although I don�t often give myself much 'reflection time' these days, nor do I ever get around to writing anything. It�s a mess sometimes as there�s no real focus. When so much goes on you just know where to begin. Ticking along quite happily and there�s little pressing to force you to put pen to paper and maybe document something, make sense of something�I find it hard to write to an unspecified audience because I can never really be open. Which is where you come in handy, as I�ve always been in the habit of telling you everything�ish."

6.02, Sunday morning (except it�s night)
"Just got in, after the weirdest and most amusing adventures. It involves a level of drunkenness, a level of nakedness, and a statue in the middle of one of Naples� main piazza�s, thankfully deserted at sort of 5am time, although perhaps more funny if there had been more of a crowd... I believe their next mission is running around a police car, although in Naples there is always the worry of getting knifed (in the butt cheek) It could maybe happen�
Other than that not a bad evening, got in free to a club which is always nice [edit �being Erasmus is akin to having local celebrity status] met some friends of our flatmate Andrea, who know their British geography through football teams (Carlotta has got far with the phrase �Sheffield United�) �she sounds like unit 3 on Agostino�s tape, whereas I sound like Unit 1 on Vu�s..."

25/10/2005
"It seems it�s been ages and I never find the time until I�m supposed to be sleeping. Poor excuse. Everyone is sleeping except for our darling Enrico who is *stuck* on MSN because he has demanding friends and is too sweet to tear himself away Also he can�t deal with multiple conversations and it alllll gets too much�Poverino!

Anyways, my parents are here. Well, not literally here, but in Naples, about half an hour walk away. How weird. It�s the collision of two seperate worlds. I think I�ve either changed a lot in some ways or I�ve got used to doing things a certain way, such as I find sitting around not doing a great deal...frustrating. As here there is always something to do..."

I�m painfully aware this isn�t very interesting. I think I�m losing my knack for writing. Or maybe I just need to be truly inspired. Or truly honest. I�m not sure how honest I am with myself. Perhaps at times I get such crazy thoughts and ideas in my head I can�t believe they�re real (if they are real.) Or sometimes they�re so crazy you think �why pursue this thought, it�s just crazy�� So what�s the point in even being honest with yourself? I think I�ve been there many times...

I have to get up early to do a million things before lang. course tomorrow, including meet my parents beforehand.

I booked flights home today, for �2.99. I fly back on the 19th December which sounds �molto eccitante� (which we now realise means sexually excited, which explains why an old housemate thought I was bisexual once..."

I got a postcard today (with random poetry on it) which was sent ages and ages ago but never arrived. I think it may have had something to do with that he didn�t write Italia on it! Who knows, maybe it�s travelled the world�.!

The boys have been involved with more nakedness (more naked in fact, totally naked) but this time there was a police warning!! Tragically I missed it, playing cards with my family..."

29/10/2005
"I think coming home will be the strangest thing. Trying to pick up everything I left behind. I left not sure exactly what I actually had to leave behind in the first place. Some friendships seem to be more or less abandoned in my absence�some through unavoidable circumstances (poor Katie still hasn�t found a post office and has been internetless since I left!) but I got such a sweet email from her which had me nearly in tears for being so kate-ish. Left me feeling sad.

I think it�s a good thing to go back to look at where you are, perhaps how far you�ve come. In a way I�m a little afraid, in all honesty. It won�t be the same, I�m even probably not the same, and circumstances regarding many relationships have changed. Some people have started whole new lives in which I don�t feature�perhaps it�s a selfish outlook but I do really value the ones I leave behind, as much fun as I have without them in the same country as me..."

"...and of course there�s you, where I�m not even sure where situations were left, probably somewhere between nowhere in particular, which may well be the same place. (Life becomes easier if you don�t ask too many questions) Which is kind of sad as that isn�t a place we�ve been before, in all this time. We haven�t been so out of touch.

Whatever you�re doing, I hope you�re making yourself happy in good ways.
While I�m out chasing rainbows I hope you�re chasing butterflies.
I hope you�re not feeling stuck in some routine or searching for some deeper meaning, but if you are I hope you�re doing something about it... still I hope you�re laughing a hell of a lot.

Clearly, I hope you�re not missing me too much.

And of course, I hope you don�t ever feel lonely."

some of them want to be abused | damn right, it's better than yours...


about
letters to you
navigate
---------
did you miss?
---------
credit
---------